The Execitive Governor of Ekiti State, Dr Kayode Fayemi has proclaim the setting up of a 47-member committee comprising   eminent indigenes of the state including three former governors to help mobilize resources to combat the COVID-19 pandemic.

Known as  ‘Ekiti State COVID-19 Response Resource Mobilization Committee’ , it is headed by former Minister of Health who is also the  Chief Executive Officer  of Juli Pharmacy, Prince Julius Adelusi-Adeluyi .

The Founder/Chancellor of the Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti (ABUAD), Aare Afe Babalola will serve as the Grand Patron while former governors; Otunba Niyi Adebayo , Chief Segun Oni and Chief Ayodele Fayose  were named as Patrons. learned the Committee has as its members, captains of industry, distinguished private sector players, renowned professionals and prominent members of Ekiti in the Diaspora.

Among the members are former Chairman of O’dua Investment, Sir Remi Omotoso; former Chairman of United African Company (UAC), Mr. Ayo Ajayi; Principal Partner of Aluko Oyebode and Co, Mr. Gbenga Oyebode; CEO of Ecobank International, Mr. Ade Ayeyemi; Chairman, Boyage Oil and Gas, Otunba Olutoye Ariyo; President, Nigeria-American Chamber of Commerce, Otunba Toyin Akomolafe; a former President of  the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Chief Wole Olanipekun (SAN) and Senator Ayo Arise.

Others  are renowned Oncologist and Director, Global Medicine, University of Chicago, USA, Prof Funmi Falusi-Olopade; Vice President, International Affairs, Kings’ College, London, Prof Funmi Olonisakin; former Executive Secretary, NHIS, Dr Femi Thomas; Human rights lawyer, Mr Femi Falana (SAN); Managing Director, Luk Oil Nigeria Ltd, Mr Kunle Gidado, CEO Agro Innovate, Mrs Foluso Olaniyan and former NBA National Secretary, Mr Debo Adesina (SAN).

 Chairman , Deux Projects Ltd, Dr Tunji Olowolafe; Director, Risk Management, Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Ms Folakemi Fatogbe; Executive Director, Sahara Energy Ltd, Mr. Wale Ajibade; and a Director at Globacom Ltd, Otunba Niyi Adewunmi were also named as members.

Governor Fayemi’s Special Adviser on Development Partnerships, Mrs. Margaret Fagboyo will serve as Secretary.

 Secretary to the State Government, Hon Biodun Oyebanji noted that  the committee’s mandate includes  mobilizing and offering  advice on funds and project management and  direct funding campaigns for the Covid-19 response.

The state government will according to him  do everything humanly possible to contain the spread of the covid-19 pandemic in the state while assuring the citizens of the commitment of  Dr Fayemi-led administration  to accountability and transparency in the management of the funds

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post