Cross River State People Democratic Party, (PDP) has been leap into a crisis as the aspirants in the concluded local government council poll ask for a refund of money paid for the form and administrative charges.

DAILY POST gathered that 11 aggrieved aspirants who cut across 18 Local government areas in the state have said that they paid for intent forms in 2017 at the cost of N600, 000 each and paid N30, 000 each for Administrative charges.

The aspirants reported that they were neither given the form nor permitted them to take part in the screening and primary exercise.

The aspirants are John Orim, John Ojeka, Bassey Effiong Bassey, Irom Bassey Okey, Okoi Okorn Obeten, Bernard Iso, Philip Etim Bassey, Amba Onen Neji, Edem Ironbar, Eyo-Nsa Eyo-ita and Asinya Ekpe Ntan.

Mr. John Ojeka, who react on behalf of the team, blamed Ntufam Edim Inok the state PDP Chairman of making a selective refund to some aspirants who also acquired the forms.

Ojeka said further that after the purchase of the form, the election was later banned by the state government in 2017. According to the Chairmanship aspirants, when the Cross River State Independent Electoral Commission confirmef a fresh scheduled for the conduct of the elections in January, they also shows their preparedness to take part in the process, having paid for forms before, but were rejected for the opportunity.

He said, “To our greatest surprise, the party came out with an authentic list of 18 local government Chairmen candidates and we were just shut out completely without any information. Furthermore, the party directed the 18 shortlisted names to proceed to their respective local Government areas for affirmation.

The screening took place on February 2nd, 2020. And when they got there, they were denied screening for no reason based on the fact that their names were not shortlisted in the purported authentic list. On March 23rd, 2020, we had a reconciliatory meeting with the committee set up by Governor Ben Ayade to iron out all areas of grievance."

Ojeka added that, the committee was chaired by Reps. Eta Mbora as Chairman, who represents Calabar Municipality/Odukpani Federal Constituency in the National Assembly, Mrs. Uduak Akiba as Secretary, and Rep. Legor Idagbor as Member and Rep. Mike Etaba as a member.

The unjust aspirants disclosed that, during the Local Government poll which later held on May 30th, 2020, they all went out massively and backed the party candidates to victory.

Ojeka later said that other angry party members who also bought the forms are currently in court challenging the selection process, however, the 11 of them decided to dance the line of alternative way of resolution by using an internal mechanism to solve the matter bearing in mind the supremacy of the party as party faithful.

When contacted the State Chairman of PDP, Inok, via phone call, he disclose he was not aware of the matter.

He added, “I want to know the petitioners, tell them to come and collect their money let me see, tell them they are not serious”, 

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post