The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the scheduled for primaries of 15 registered political parties for the Edo Governorship poll.

The National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee,  Mr Festus Okoye disclosed this after a virtual meeting on Tuesday in Abuja, declared that, party primaries for the Edo Governorship election will hold between 2nd June, and 27th June, 2020.

Okoye said this in his statement, “The All Progressives Congress (APC) direct primary will take place on June 22, while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) would hold indirect primary between June 19 and June 20."

Okoye further said that other parties: the African Action Congress (AAC), African Democratic Party (ADP), Allied Peoples Movement (APM), New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) and Social Democratic Party (SDP) will hold their indirect primaries on 25th June, 2020.

Also the African Democratic Congress (ADC), Allied Peoples Movement (APM), Labour Party (LP) and Young Progressives Party (YPP) has informed the commission that their indirect primaries will conduct on 27th June, 2020.

The other parties to hold indirect primaries were Action Peoples Party (APP) on June 26, National Rescue Movement (NRM) June 20 and Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) June 14.

Okoye further urged all political parties to hold their primaries in accordance with the provisions of the laws and guidelines.

According to Okoye added that, the 1999 Constitution and Electoral Act 2010 (as amended), Regulations and Guidelines for the Conduct of Political Party Primaries (2018) and the INEC Policy for Conducting Elections in the context of COVID-19 Pandemic.

Okoye appealed to all political parties sponsoring candidates and participating in the Edo and Ondo Governorship elections to shun injustice, he further said that the commission will not accept acts of electoral retribution.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post