FG Condemns Oyo state Reopening of Schools - Businessday NG

The Commissioners of Education in 19 Northern States, have supported the Federal Government’s decision for pegging school resumption.

This was revealed in a statement issued in Kaduna on Saturday, sequence a virtual meeting where many points were addressed.

The statement was signed by Dr Shehu Makarfi, the Commissioner of Education, Kaduna, who is also the Chairman of the Northern States School Exchange Programme.

Out of the 19 Commissioners 13 was in attendance.

They include: Kaduna, Bauchi, Gombe, Niger, Nasarawa, Adamawa, Taraba, Kogi, Kwara, Katsina, Kano, Borno and Jigawa.

According to the commissioners, keeping school locked down considering the cases of COVID-19 throughout the nation, is a good decision in order to guarantee the safety of our children.

“We have, therefore, resolved that schools should be reopened only when it is safe to do so and when states have complied with the minimum COVID-19 safety protocols as outlined by the NCDC.

“We will also participate in the West African Senior School Certificate Examination and other examinations only when it is safe to reopen schools and when coordinated by the Federal Ministry of Education,” it read in part.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post