Ongoing governorship primaries to pick the flag bear of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP has ended.

Sequence the support of agents of the eight contestants by the Governor of Enugu State, Ifeanyi Ugwanyi who presided the Primary Election Committee, the ordering of ballots have began.

The eight contestants include the Deputy Governor of Ondo, Agboola Ajayi who recently decamped from the ruling APC to PDP, A former Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Eyitayo Jegede, Dr Bode Ayorinde, Prince Godday Erewa, Dr Eddy Olafeso, Mr Banji Okunomo, Sola Ebiseeni and Senator Boluwaji Kunlere.

Meanwhile, with the ordering ongoing, the race to pick the flagbearer currently tight as Ajayi and Jegede seem to have most votes among other contestant.

Voting by the 2111 delegates from the 18 local government areas of the states ended around 8:00 pm as the exercise began around 4:00 pm with some contestant absents during the process.

Ajayi and Jegede who are the top two contestant command large support base of PDP members across the three senatorial district of the state.

Whoever emerges the winner in today’s primaries will be contesting against Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu who emerged the flag bear of the APC primaries on Monday as well as other candidates of other parties.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post