The Federal Government has confirmed there will be no precise shutdown in 11 local government areas (LGAs), where COVID-19 is widespread.

Seven of these LGAs include in Lagos, with some Local Government in Kano, Bayelsa and two others in unidentified states.

Dr. Sani Aliyu, who is the National Coordinator of the Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19, disclosed this on Monday during their press conference.

Dr. Sani said in his statement that, shuting down those local government councils will be similarly to shutingdown the whole states, as their region makes it very difficult to carry out isolated shutdown.

He added that, the PTF was looking for measures with the affected Local Government via risk communication and community engagement, as part of the efforts of legal move to curb the high rate infection.

Dr Sani Aliyu stated that, “We have 11 high-burden local government areas we have identified. And we are doing a lot of work in these local government areas, especially as it relates to risk communication and community engagement activities.

“We are also trying to improve testing, especially in Lagos where seven of the 11 local governments are.

“For instance, if we were to lockdown those local government areas in Lagos, we will have to lockdown the entire state. States like Bayelsa, where in Yenagoa, which is the local government with the high-burden, if we lock Yenagoa down, virtually all the roads across the state have to go through this local government.

“Technically it will be very difficult. We know if the interventions that we proposed are being implemented and people are cooperating, you do not actually need to lock people down at all."

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post