The Red Chamber of Nigeria National Assembly yesterday in Abuja sign off Kwara State’s nominee Alhaji Razak Folorunsho Gidado as a Commissioner of the National Population Commission (NPC).

The Upper Chamber also ratified Alhaji Isa Kwarra from Nasarawa State as Chairman of the National Population Commission.

Ngrealnews gathered that the Senate Committee on National Identity and National Population Commission had previously came with a sufficient report on its screening of Gidado and his eleven other colleagues.

Senator Ahmed Saidu Alkali, the Chairman of the Committee, authenticates that the nominees were screened and found pleasantly with the requisite qualifications to serve as Chairman and Commissioners.

Ahmed said that the Committee endorse their acknowledgement to the Committee of the whole because there is no petition from any angle to counter their nomination.

Dr. Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan, the Senate President, appealed the group to be determined, saying that the previous population census was done in 2006, and that Nigerians were looking up to them.

Meanwhile, Alhaji Razak Folorunsho Gidado, has shows huge appreciation to Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of Kwara State over his appointment and confirmation as Commissioner of the NPC.

“I am immensely thankful to His Excellency, the Governor of Kwara State, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq for this wonderful opportunity to serve my State and Country through this new position at the NPC,” he told The Herald in an exclusive interview yesterday in Ilorin.

He said further that, “it is always a great privilege to be counted worthy of any opportunity to be of service to one’s nation and one can only promise to put in the best efforts.”

He also vow that he would not prove faithless the belief placed in him by the Governor and President Muhammadu Buhari throughout his tenure at the NPC.

Alhaji Gidado specially thank Ibrahim Oloriegbe (Kwara Central) and Lola Ashiru (Kwara South) for their relentless efforts during the process.

Gidado stated that the duo Senators left their busy schedules to be in attendance and stand by him before, during and after the screening exercise.

Hon. Oloriewe Raheem Adedoyin, who is the former Commissioner for Information in the State, said yesterday that Gidado qualified for the federal appointment.

Oloriewe Adedoyin added, “Gidado’s appointment satisfies so many constituencies. But the most important is that his core constituency, media and communication, and the political class celebrate his choice for the challenging national job.

“Given his antecedents, I have no doubt that Gidado will do Kwara proud in his onerous national assignment.
“His national appointment is a plus for Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq whose commitment to seeing Kwarans play commanding roles at national level is well-known."

Gidado came from OkeApomu/Oju Ekun/Sarumi Ward in Ilorin West Local Government Area of Kwara State.

He served as Chief Press Secretary and later Special Assistant (Media) to late Governor of Kwara State, Alhaji Mohammed Alabi Lawal.

He also served as a Senior Special Assistant (Conflict Matters) at the tail end of the first term of the immediate past Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed.

He have a Bachelor of Science degree in Sociology from the nation’s premier university, the University of Ibadan in 1983, a Post Graduate Diploma in Journalism from the Nigeria Institute of Journalism, Lagos and Master of Business Administration (MBA).

He was a lecturer before joining Kaduna-based The Democrat Newspapers and moved to Lagos to become Assistant Editor of Healthcare Magazine. He also worked as Assistant Editor of the foremost Nigerian bilingual business Magazine, Business-In-ECOWAS.

Gidado had a fulfilling professional stint with the Ibadan-based The Monitor Newspapers before the call to serve his State of origin under late Governor Lawal.

Other nominees that were confirmed as Commissioners include: Ibrahim Mohammed (Bauchi); Ajayi Ayodeji Sunday (Ekiti); Hon. Joseph Kwali Shazin (FCT); Garba A.G. Zakar K/Hausa (Jigawa); Engr. Bala Almu Manye Z (Katsina); Mrs Bimbola Salu-Hundeyin (Lagos); Ali Silas Agara (Nasarawa); Mohammed Abdullahi Dattijo (Sokoto); Mai Aliyu Muhammed (Yobe) and Muhammad Muttaka Rimi (Zamfara).

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post